Home

Announcements

Math 204 - Calculus for Business and Social Sciences
Summer 2009


Friday, July 17
  • Exam 3 Review - Vesion B is now posted.
Thursday, July 16
  • Exam 3 Information was updated, it includes Section 5.4. Please mark your copy or download the revised version.
Wednesday, July 15
  • Quiz 11 Information is now posted.
  • Exam 3 Information and Review for Exam 3 are now posted.
Monday, July 13
  • New lecture notes posted: on integration by substitution.
Thursday, July 9
  • Homework for Monday: Problem Set 6
  • New handouts posted: practice on definite integrals and Quiz 10 Information.
Wednesday, July 8
  • Quiz 9 Information is now posted.
  • New lecture notes posted: on differentiation.
Monday, July 6
  • New handout posted: on optimization 2 (Section 3.4)
  • Quiz 8 will cover all previous topics and Optimization 2 (section 3.4) and the product rule (Section 2.3).
Thursday, July 2
  • Answers for Problem Set 5 are now posted.
Monday, June 29
  • Quiz 6 was cancelled. Quiz 7 will include Quiz 6 topics.
  • Exam 2 Information is now posted.
  • The course syllabus has been updated. The revised version includes how midterm grades will be determined, and an updated Calendar of Events.
Friday, June 26
  • Quiz 7 Information is now posted.
  • New handout posted: on graphing rational functions.
  • Homework for Monday: Problem Set 5
Wednesday, June 24
  • Quiz 5 was postponed to Thursday, June 24
  • Quiz 6 was postpoend to Monday, June 29
  • Quiz 6 Information is now posted.
  • New handouts: on differentiation, graphing factored polynomials, and logarithms.
Monday, June 22
  • Quiz 5 Information is now posted.
Thursday, June 18
  • Answers for Problem Sets 1-4 are now posted. Use these in studying for Exam 1.
  • Extra Credit Assignment: Prove that the function f(x)=x3 is one-to-one.
Wednesday, June 17
  • Homework for Thursday: Problem Set 4 - #2 c, d, e, f, g, h, #3, and #4
  • Extra Credit Assignment 2 is now posted.
Monday, June 15
  • Homework for Wednesday: Problem Set 4 - Skip problems #2 c, d, e, f, g, h, #3, and #4
  • New Lecture notes posted: Complete Analysis of a function.

Friday, June 12

  • Extra Credit Assignment 1 is now posted.
Thursday, June 11 (later)
  • Quiz 3 is postponed to Monday, June 15.
  • Quiz 4 is postponed to Wednesday, June 17.
  • Exam 1 is postponed to Monday, June 22.
  • Check back tomorrow, by then the extra credit assignment will be posted.
Thursday, June 11
  • New handouts posted: Exam 1 Information and lecture notes on tangent lines, logarithms, and completing the square - part 4.
  • Homework for Monday: Problem Set 3
Wednesday, June 10

  • Some of the older announcements were deleted from this page. They are all available on the newly posted handout tited Announcements.
  • New handouts posted: Quiz 4 Information and lecture notes on optimization.
  • Extra credit assignment: Suppose that towns A and B are s distance away from each other. If we travel from A to B with an average speed of v1 and from B to A with an average speed of v2, compute the average speed for the entire roundtrip in terms of s, v1 and v2
Monday, June 8
  • New handouts posted: on writing equations of lines and graphing parabolas.
  • Quiz 3 Information is now posted.
  • Homework for Wednesday: Problem Set 2
Thursday, June 4

  • New handouts posted: Quiz 2 Information, lecture notes on factoring, completing the square, the real number system, radical expressions, basic percent problems, linear and quadratic word problems.
  • Homework for Monday: Problem Set 1
Wednesday, June 3
  • New handout posted: Course Outline. Check it out! This document will be regularly updated. To access the latest version, push the refresh button.
  • Extra credit assignment: We proved in class that terminating and repeating decimals always represent rational numbers. Prove the converse: that every rational number, when written as a decimal, is either terminating or repeating.
Tuesday, June 2
  • Welcome to the course! My name is Marta Hidegkuti and I will be the instructor of this course. Please monitor this web site regularly because all announcements and handouts will be made available here. When viewing this site, push the refresh button to access the most recent documents. Homework for Thursday: Questions